News Items from UNC Greensboro

Group photo of recipients

Group photo of recipientsAll those recognized at last week’s Faculty & Staff Awards ceremony shared in their significant impact on the work our university does in the region and in the state.

The day’s ceremony would honor extraordinary contributions of UNCG faculty and staff, Acting Chancellor Dana Dunn said. “We are recognizing individuals who have made sustained and innovative contributions to the university’s success through our service awards and individual awards. In this annual program, we honor the exemplary service of faculty and staff who go above and beyond.”

“I bring greetings from Chancellor Brady, who truly regrets that she could not be here today,” Dunn said. “This is one of her favorite events, and she sends her regards.”

Dunn recognized Susan Safran, Chair of the Board of Trustees, Board of Trustees member Charles Blackmon and UNC Staff Assembly Chair Susan Colby, on hand to help honor the recipients.

Award recipient for 2015 are:

Teaching Excellence Awards:

  • Dr. Dianne Welsh – Mary Settle Sharp Award for Teaching Excellence
  • Dr. Mitchell Croatt – James Y. Joyner Award for Teaching Excellence
  • Ms. Karen DeNaples – Anna Maria Gove Award for Teaching Excellence
  • Dr. Joseph Starobin –  UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching

Gladys Strawn Bullard Awards:

  • Fred Patrick (staff)
  • Dr. Catherine Matthews (faculty)
  • Natalie Hengstebeck (student)

Staff Excellence Awards:

  • Kattya Castellon
  • Haley Childers

Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award for the Graduate School:

Dr. L. DiAnne Borders

Research Excellence Awards:

  • Dr. Eugene Rogers
  • Dr. Nick Oberlies

Student Learning Enhancement Award:

  • International and Global Studies, received by Dr. Roberto Campo
  • Religious Studies, received by Dr. Bill Hart.

Those receiving recognition for length of service included:

30 years of service:

  • Daniel Bibeau
  • Kay Cowen
  • Donna Friddle
  • Tommy Hailey
  • Lynn Harris
  • Judy Hunsucker
  • Joyce Johnson
  • Robin Kallam
  • Billy Lee
  • Dennis Leyden
  • Steve Rhew
  • Donald Skeen
  • Kenneth Snowden

35 years of service:

  • Cherry Callahan
  • James Clark
  • Svi Shapiro
  • Pat Turner

40 years of service:

  • Joseph DiPiazza
  • John Neufeld

Dr. Michael Frierson and the students in the UNCG Advanced Media Production Practicum created videos of the award-recipients. The videos will be posted on the UNCG HR site soon. Visit https://web.uncg.edu/hrs/Employee_Recognition/Excellence_Awards/ to see the videos and to see past recipients.

Share This