News Items from UNC Greensboro

Twenty-six faculty members were celebrated recently for attaining promotion and tenure.

Fȇted at a September 27 reception sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the University Libraries, honorees include tenured faculty and promoted academic professional and clinical faculty.

Dr. Dana Dunn, provost and executive vice chancellor, Dr. Martin Halbert, dean of the University Libraries, and Dr. Franklin D. Gilliam, Jr., chancellor, spoke spoke during the event in the Virginia Dare Room.

In a tradition begun in 2006, honorees were given the opportunity to select a book, DVD, or music CD that has special meaning to them for the University Libraries collection. A book plate was applied to each new piece for the collection. For those who accepted the offer of a photograph with their selection, READ posters were created.

A display of photographs of the faculty and their selections are now on view near the Reference desk on the main floor of Jackson Library.

2017 honorees (click on each to see a photo and the book they chose)

Dr. Heng An, Accounting and Finance

Dr. Jill C. Bender, History

Mr. Stoel Burrowes, Interior Architecture

Dr. Claudia Cabello Hutt, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Dr. Tanya M. Coakley, Social Work

Ms. Anna R. Craft, University Libraries

Dr. Leslie L. Davis, Adult Health Nursing

Dr. Xiaoli Gao, Mathematics and Statistics

Dr. Laurie W. Gold, Kinesiology

Dr. Kimberly Kappler Hewitt, Educational Leadership and Cultural Foundations

Mr. Travis L. Hicks, Interior Architecture

Dr. Arielle T. Kuperberg, Sociology

Dr. Karen M. La Paro, Human Development and Family Studies

Ms. Erin Lawrimore, University Libraries

Dr. Jennifer Mangrum, Teacher Education and Higher Education

Dr. Constance L. McKoy, Music Education

Dr. Esra Memili, Marketing, Entrepreneurship, Hospitality and Tourism

Dr. Anatoly Miroshnichenko, Physics and Astronomy

Dr. Loreen N. Olson, Communication Studies

Ms. Sheryl A. Oring, Art

Dr. Kimberly S. Petersen, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Kimberlianne Podlas, Media Studies

Dr. Julia M. Smith, Psychology

Dr. Tyreasa Washington, Social Work

Dr. Jianjun Wei, Nanoscience

Dr. Ethan Zell, Psychology

More information, as well as honorees from previous years, is at

Information courtesy University Libraries and Christine Fisher.
Photographs from the event by Laath Martin

Share This