News Items from UNC Greensboro

012010CampusPeopleGraphicFeatured this week: Sandra Redmond – Dr. James Benshoff – Dr. Jane Myers – Dr. Eileen Kohlenberg – Dr. Kari Eddington – Dr. Julie Mendez – Neus Barrantes-Vidal – Tim George

Sandra Redmond (Business Affairs) received the 2010 Betty Hardin Award. The Betty Hardin Award for Excellence in Business Affairs is presented each spring to a deserving permanent full time employee of the Business Affairs division.

062310CampusPeople_BenshoffDr. James Benshoff (Counseling and Educational Development) has been elected to a one year term as Chair of the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC), beginning July 1, as he also begins his second three-year term on the board. NBCC is the largest organization of professional counselors in the world and actively promotes the development of mental health services in countries around the world, ranging from Venezuela to Malawi to Bhutan. Benshoff will be traveling extensively over the next year in support of NBCC’s efforts.

062310CampusPeople_MyersDr. Jane Myers (Counseling and Educational Development) will give the keynote address “Promoting Wellness through Assessment” at the First Asia Pacific Conference – Workshops on Psychological Testing in Manila on June 28. She also will present two workshops there: “Assessing Wellness within and across Cultures” and “HeartMath Assessment: New Tools Paradigm.” In late June, Myers will visit the Chinese University of Hong Kong to work with colleagues Drs. Patrick Lau and Raymond Chui Chow on the Chinese version of her measure, the Five Factor Wellness Inventory, and research on wellness issues among teachers in Hong Kong and China.

062310CampusPeople_KohlenbergDr. Eileen Kohlenberg (Nursing) was a delegate from North Carolina to the American Nurses Association House of Delegates, in Washington, DC. President Obama spoke to the delegates last Wednesday. Kohlenberg is also a candidate for the ANA Congress on Nursing Practice and Economics, which formulates nursing and health care policy.

Dr. Kari Eddington and Dr. Julie Mendez (Psychology) have won a grant of $13,000 from the Group Psychotherapy Foundation. Funds will support the development and testing of a group-based treatment program for mothers with postpartum depression. The program takes an evidence-based approach that integrates depression intervention strategies with strategies aimed at improving parenting skills and enhancing the quality of the mother-baby relationship.

Neus Barrantes-Vidal of the Unversitat Autonoma de Barcelona has received a three-year appointment as an adjunct associate professor in the Department of Psychology. Professor Barrantes-Vidal has collaborated and coauthored publications and presentations with Paul Silvia, Rosemery Nelson-Gray, and Thomas Kwapil, as well as a number of graduate students in the Psychology Department.

062310CampusPeople_GeorgeTim George has been appointed associate director of athletics for external operations. George comes to UNCG after a six-year stint at the University of Oklahoma. He held several positions within the marketing and promotions and ticket offices during his tenure. He began with the Sooners as the Director of Promotions in August 2004 before being promoted to Assistant Athletics Director of Marketing and Promotions. In August 2008, he moved over to the ticketing side to assume the position of Director of Sales and Fan Development. During his two years in the position, men’s basketball group sales tickets increased 270 percent, helping the overall average attendance grow 11 percent. There was also significant growth in group sales for soccer and baseball during his tenure. George also worked closely with The Sooner Club on priority seating programs and managed fan development initiatives in that role. Athletic Director Kim Record noted his experience at Oklahoma, TCU, Florida, Georgia and Missouri. “He will help us create a comprehensive marketing and promotional plan for our sports programs, particularly men’s basketball,” she said.

WithTheStaffHello: Ghazala Bibi, School of Education – Hre Rahlan, Grounds – James T. Munro Jr., Grounds – Koren L. Burgess, Housing & Residence – Chelsey Watson, HDFS

Good-bye: Stefani Hobbick,University Libraries – Hannah Winkler, University Libraries – Yvonne Cousino, Graduate School – Jarrad Williams, Graduate School – Samuel A. Cavanaugh, HDFS – Sherrill Roberts, Graduate School – Rena P. Dixon,School of Nursing – Jaimie Foster, Center for New North Carolinians

Share This