News Items from UNC Greensboro

012010CampusPeopleGraphicFeatured this week: Dr. Brett Carter – Steve Moore – Dr. Roy Schwartzman – Dr. Deborah Taub – Craig Nova – Dr. Stan Faeth – Jim Fisher – Dr. Stoel Burrowes – Dr. David Holley – Dr. Cedric Pearce

081810CampusPeople_CarterDr. Brett Carter has been appointed dean of students effective Aug. 1, 2010. Carter has been serving in the interim role since March and was selected for the permanent position after a national search. He has been at the university since 1995 when he worked in Housing and Residence Life, first as area director then as an assistant director. He came to the Dean of Students Office in 2002 as assistant dean of students. He was later appointed associate dean. Carter earned his Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from UNCG.

081810CampusPeople_MooreSteve Moore (Nursing) has authored a chapter for Comprehensive Advisor Training and Development: Practices that Deliver, published in August. The chapter is titled “Job Shadowing, Mentors, and Developmental Feedback: New academic advising professionals are starving for support; can we model our experiences to shape them?” The publication is the second edition of the popular monograph. Moore’s chapter focuses on new professional academic advisors and the importance that coaching and on the job shadowing play in their career development. The monograph is published by the National Association of Academic Advisors and is a benchmark for training and development resources in the field of academic advising.

081810CampusPeople_SchwartzmanDr. Roy Schwartzman (Communication Studies) has published the second edition of “Fundamentals of Oral Communication,” published by Kendall/Hunt. The first edition was in 2007. It is a comprehensive introduction to speech communication: small groups, public speaking, interviewing, and interpersonal relationships. The book features activities related to service learning, plus communication ethics and “new media” such as electronic communication and social networking are covered. He is founding co-editor of the Journal of Applied Learning in Higher Education.

081810CampusPeople_TaubDr. Deborah Taub (Curriculum and Instruction) was recognized with the 2010 Betty L. Harrah Journal Manuscript of the Year, by the the Association of College and University Housing Officers-International. Taub along with Dr. Michael Fanucce Jr. (Illinois State) wrote “The Relationship of Homonegativity to LGBT Students’ and Non-LGBT Students’ Perceptions of Residence Hall Climate” for the Journal of College and University Housing. To be considered, honorees are nominated by peers, must meet certain criteria for each award, and are nominated based on their talents and continued contributions to better the collegiate housing profession.

081810CampusPeople_NovaCraig Nova (MFA Writing Program) was featured on KCRW’s Bookworm. The public radio station serves Southern California, including Los Angeles. Bookworm showcases writers of fiction and poetry. Nova discussed his new novel, “The Informer.” Details are here. http://www.kcrw.com/etc/programs/bw/bw100826craig_nova_the_infor

081810CampusPeople_FaethA paper written by Dr. Stan Faeth (Biology) with two other professors has received the 2010 Lord Robert May award for the best paper published in the inaugural issue of Journal of Biological Dynamics. The 2007 paper was titled “An apparent paradox of horizontal and vertical disease transmission.”

081810CampusPeople_FisherJim Fisher (Theatre) has been elected to the National Theatre Conference. He is one of only seven new nominees selected to join the conference, which dates back to 1925. Membership in the conference is limited to 120. It operates as a theatrical think-tank to support American theatre – university, professional and community – and honor achievements in the field.

A trio of faculty members and entrepreneurs from chemistry and biochemistry, music and interior architecture will merge the technical aspects of their fields with business-building basics to develop cross-disciplinary courses as the first class of Coleman Foundation Entrepreneurship Fellows. The inaugural Coleman Foundation Entrepreneurship Fellows are Dr. Stoel Burrowes (Interior Architecture), who is preparing a course on design perspectives; Dr. David Holley (Music), who is designing a course in entrepreneurship in music; and Dr. Cedric Pearce (Chemistry and Biochemistry), who is CEO of Mycosynthetix and will create a course on science entrepreneurship. The fellowship lasts a year. The three fellows were named by the North Carolina Entrepreneurship Center, which received a $15,000 grant from the Coleman Foundation Faculty Entrepreneurship Fellows Program to offer the award.

Share This