News Items from UNC Greensboro

011310CampusPeopleGraphicFeatured this week: Dr. Julie Mendez – Dr. Rosemery Nelson-Gray – Dr. Janet Boseovski – Dr. Stuart Marcovitch – Dr. Tom Matyok – Dr. Cathryne Schmitz – Dr. Hannah Mendoza – Dr. Dayna Touron – Andrew L. Wooten – Dr. Thomas Kwapil – David Kinsey – Steve Siler – Staff Stars – With the Staff

Dr. Julie Mendez and Dr. Rosemery Nelson-Gray (Psychology) have been awarded a community-based research grant from UNCG’s Office of Research and Economic Development ($1000) to support their proposal “Examining Acculturative Stress for Newly Arriving Refugee Students: Support Groups with Adolescent Immigrants’, which is aimed at providing information to the Guilford County Schools and the scientific community about coping and adjustment of refugee youth from different ethnic and cultural backgrounds. The research will take place at the Doris H. Henderson Newcomer’s school.

Dr. Janet Boseovski and Dr. Stuart Marcovitch (Psychology) gave an invited community presentation at the Winston Salem SciWorks Science Cafe on Nov. 16th. The title of the presentation was “What’s the Rush? The Potential Benefits of Immaturity in Childhood.”

David Kinsey (Nursing) is the first recipient of the school’s inaugural Avahleen Cain Excellence Award. Dr. Sandra Micqui Reed, faculty emeritus in Nursing, established the award in honor of Avahleen Cain, secretary to the founding dean of the school, Dr. Eloise Lewis. The award includes a monetary award, a certificate of recognition and a name plaque in the school’s lobby. The Avahleen Cain Award recognizes a staff member of the School of Nursing who provides outstanding leadership and service to the school and to the university through dedication, professionalism and leadership. Dean Lynne Pearcey appointed a committee of faculty and staff to select the recipient. Kinsey, who received the award Dec. 3 at the school’s holiday luncheon, is a computer consultant described by one nominator as “responsive, thoroughly professional, highly competent, while also being polite and pleasant.”

Dr. Tom Matyok (Conflict Studies and Dispute Resolution), Dr. Cathryne Schmitz (Conflict Studies and Dispute Resolution) and Dr. Hannah Mendoza (Interior Architecture) presented a paper Nov. 16 at the International Conference of Education, Research and Innovation in Madrid, Spain. The paper, “The Role of Collaboration in Preparing Graduates for Global Citizenship,” proposes that in the rapidly changing global landscape, students need the grounding of a liberal education with the fluidity of learning beyond disciplines. Within this process, knowledge borders are destroyed and knowledge flows freely among disciplines without disciplinary ownership. The paper and presentation outlined their collaborative international projects and made recommendations for advancing deep democracy through global citizenship.

120810CampusPeople_TouronDr. Dayna Touron (Psychology) was an invited member of a scientific research panel for the National Airspace System Human Factors Safety Lab on a project evaluating maximum entry age and mandatory retirement age in Air Traffic Controllers.

120810CampusPeople_WootenAndrew L. Wooten has been named director of outreach & commercialization at Gateway University Research Park. As director, Wooten will have the primary responsibility to develop public-private partnerships with high technology firms that will take advantage of the capabilities of Gateway’s facilities and the innovations from the researchers at the Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering. Wooten, working with the technology transfer offices of NC A&T and UNCG, will work to craft and negotiate mutually beneficial partnerships around promising research and technologies within both universities, in particular, the JSNN. Wooten was most recently vice president, US West with Neri Capital Partners in Phoenix, Arizona, where he specialized in mergers and acquisition transactions involving technology companies. Prior to that he was vice president and managing director for Arizona Technology Enterprises, where he was instrumental in the formation of over 20 new technology ventures and 300 licensing agreements based on Arizona State University technologies. Additional experience includes technology commercialization at the University of Chicago as well as business development positions with Thermo Fisher Scientific and Applied Biosystems. He has a B.A. in chemistry from Berea College, a Master’s of Science Technology from the University of Georgia and an MBA in Finance and Technology Management from Mercer University.

120810CampusPeople_KwapilDr. Thomas Kwapil (Psychology) has received a Visiting Scholar Award from the Catalan Government’s Comissió Interdepartamental de Recerca i Tecnologia. The funding will support his collaborative research at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona.

120810CampusPeople_SilerA retirement reception for Steve Siler (Facilities Operations) is scheduled for Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2-4 p.m. in Virginia Dare Room, Alumni House. Everyone on campus is invited. Siler has served UNCG since 1973, when he began in the Steam Plant, at about the time the Jackson Library tower and the Eberhardt Building were being constructed. In 1975, he started in the HVAC Shop and became an HVAC technician. In 1989 he became plant maintenance supervisor in the newly renovated HHP Building, and in the mid-1990’s he started the zone maintenance program for the entire campus. In 1999 he became the campus’ utilities manager, and in 2006 he became the assistant director of maintenance. He retires as acting director of Facilities Operations.

Nine staff members were surprised over the past two months with Staff Star awards. They are Ray Riggins, Facilities Operations; Lilwanda James, Facilities Operations; Brenda Jones, School of Education Dean’s Office; Linda Gillis, Housing & Residence Life; Mary Carter, Facilities Operations; Mary Katsikas, Chemistry; Dawn Avolio, History; John Meroney, POCAM; Brian Downs, HES; Paul Bigelow, Facility Services; Ada Baldwin, Facility Services; Jermaine Sinclaire, Registrar’s Office; Steve Siler, Facilities Operations; Joseph Hall, Housing and Residence Life/Housekeeping. Read more and see photos at the Staff Stars web page.

WithTheStaffHello: Chrystal Lewis, Financial Aid; Barry Williams, Housekeeping; Connie Harman, ITS; Norma Headley, JSNN; Matthew Loyd, Continual Learning; Erin McGinn, HDFS; Robbin Smith, Facilities Operations; Sarah Warnemunde, Human Resources; Thea V. Jones, HDFS; Marquita Morris, Nursing; Edward James, Housekeeping; Michael V. Moore, UTLC; Allen Mitchell, Athletics

Good-bye: David Brown Jr., Housekeeping; Jon Roethling; Ashley Reid, HDFS; Melissa Krueger, ITS; Charles Stimpson, Housekeeping; Paul Ashby, Undergraduate Studies/Warren Ashby RC

Share This