News Items from UNC Greensboro

052913Feature_FacultyBooksOn May 2, 2013, many faculty authors were celebrated in the Hodges Reading Room of Jackson Library. On display were 52 books the University Libraries had acquired that were written, edited or translated by these authors over the past academic year.

“On display today, we see one measure of our faculty’s scholarly and creative output—your book publications,” Provost David H. Perrin told the faculty being honored.

“This is the third year the University Libraries have held this event, and we’re seeing some familiar names among the authors,” he said. Dr. Hamid Nemati and Dr. Albert Link have been honored each year. Dr. Carol Mullen, Dr. Christopher Hodgkins, Craig Nova, Dr. Dale Schunk, Dr. Edna Chun, Dr. Edna Tan, Dr. Geoffrey Baym, Dr. Kelly Ritter, Dr. Mark Rifkin, Dr. Mark Smith-Soto and Dr. Barbara Levin have been honored twice.

“We have some firsts this year among the books, too,” he said. Dr. Mike Perko (Public Health Education) has co-written a series of children’s books that tackle themes of bullying and self-esteem. “They are the first children’s books honored at this event.”

And there was another first, a digital book: Christopher Hodgkins’ “Digital Temple.”

A full list of the honored books and faculty authors are at http://uncgfacultypubs.blogspot.com/2013/05/celebration.html

Share This