News Items from UNC Greensboro

The Faculty & Staff Excellence Awards honorees represent UNCG’s finest ideals, Chancellor Franklin Gilliam, Jr., said at the beginning of awards ceremony. “The ideals are only ideal when they are translated into action,” he added.

Through films highlighting the recipients, attendees would see some of the research and creative activity, mentoring and teaching excellence that distinguish this year’s honorees.
“We salute the recipients for all their accomplishments,” he said.

He recognized Staff Star recipients, in a special section of the audience near the front center.

He also recognized Service Pin recipients of 30, 35 and 40 years.

Associate Vice Chancellor for Human Resources Michelle Lamb Moone served as mistress of ceremonies, welcoming attendees. She spoke of appreciation as an important human need as well as a source of continued motivation.

She acknowledged the creative work of Media Studies students in creating the faculty/staff highlight videos seen during the ceremony.

The ceremony was held May 2 in EUC Auditorium.

The honorees were:

UNCG BOG of Governors Award for Teaching Excellence – Dr. Sharon Morrison (Public Health Education)

Mary Settle Sharpe Award for Teaching Excellence – Dr. James Fisher (Theatre)
James Y. Joyner Award for Teaching Excellence – Sheryl Oring (Art)
Anna Maria Gove Award for Teaching Excellence – Wade Maki (Philosophy)

O. Max Gardner Award nominee – Dr. David Wyrick (Public Health Education)

Gladys Strawn Bullard Awards –
Anna Poteat (student, Geography)
Dr. Brett Carter (staff, Dean of Students Office)
Dr. Samuel Miller (faculty, Education)

Staff Excellence Awards –
Angela Mahoney (Human Resources)
Kara Baldwin (Student Success Center)

Holshouser Award for Excellence in Public Service nominee – Dr. Christine Murrary (Counseling and Educational Development)

Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award – Dr. Cheryl A. Buehler (Human Development and Family Studies)

Senior Research Excellence Award – Dr. Sat Gupta (Mathematics and Statistics)
Junior Research Excellence Award – Dr. Amanda Tanner (Public Health Education)

Student Learning Enhancement Awards –
Kinesiology, EdD program
Kinesiology, MS program
Thomas Undergraduate Research Mentor Award – Dr. Nadja Cech (Chemistry and Biochemistry)

By Mike Harris
Photograph by Martin W. Kane

See additional post on the Research award recipients at the UNCG Research web site.

Share This