News Items from UNC Greensboro

Spartan academic excellence held the spotlight last week at UNCG’s 55th annual Student Honors Convocation in Elliott University Center Auditorium, where 50 received Student Excellence Awards, 35 received International Honors, 53 received Disciplinary Honors and 23 received Full University Honors. Graduate and undergraduate students were also honored for special accomplishments in research and teaching.

Senior Vice Provost Alan Boyette gave welcoming remarks and Dean of Lloyd International Honors College Omar Ali introduced the convocation speaker, Eloise Hassell, lecturer in the Bryan School of Business and Economics.

Assistant Vice Provost for Graduate Education Scott Hudgins presented the Graduate Student Scholarly and Teaching Awards:

  • Hannah G. Dudley Showell, PhD, History, Outstanding Dissertation
  • Andrea Kulish, MA, Psychology, Outstanding Thesis
  • Chanel Lojacono, MS, Kinesiology, Innovative Use of Technology in a Thesis or Dissertation
  • Aftynne E. Cheek, PhD, Specialized Education Services, Innovative Use of Technology in a Thesis or Dissertation
  • Denise Rhew, PhD, Gerontology, George and Beatrice Goldman Fisher Gerontology Dissertation Prize
  • Rudolph Bedeley, Crystal Gray, Carol Johnston, Olivia Meeks, Justina Licata and Carl Schlachte, Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards

Research and Creativity Awards were presented to six students who had shared their research at the UNCG Graduate Research and Creativity Expo: Marya Fancey, Ho Young Lee, Luciana Lilley, Taylor Mabe, Justin Larson and Tiffany Merritt.

Following the graduate awards, Director of the Undergraduate Research, Scholarship and Creativity Office Lee Phillips presented 11 undergraduates with Undergraduate Research and Creativity Awards or honorable mentions for work they had presented at the Carolyn and Norwood Thomas Undergraduate Research and Creativity Expo. Those students include Alexis Cole, Anna Sizemore, Sarah Pittman, Natalia Husby, Amanda Baeten, Nadjali Chung, Cory Henderson, JD Manzo, Ashley Sanchez, Aaron Wagoner and Eni Minerali.

Ryan A. Ridpath received the University Libraries Undergraduate Research Award, presented by Assistant Dean of University Libraries Mike Crumpton and Manuscript Archivist Jennifer Motszko.

“Our students shone brightly at the convocation as they came across the stage to accept a range of awards for their inspiring work with faculty in the humanities, sciences and performing arts,” Ali said. “There was a palpable sense of collective pride in the auditorium as each set of accomplishments was read about the work of undergraduate and graduate students coming from all backgrounds.”


Story by Susan Kirby-Smith, University Communications

Share This