News Items from UNC Greensboro

Photo of the award winners

Photo of the award winnersStaff members and administrators gathered at the Alumni House May 20 for the inaugural Staff Awards Ceremony, with awards presented by Chancellor Franklin D. Gilliam, Jr.

“Many of you know that I believe that staff are the backbone of the University,” he said. “You provide critical structural support. … You do all the day-to-day things in the life of the University that make it work. And what I particularly like about our staff is our commitment to excellence. … It’s your commitment and your pride in the work that you do that I so admire. You all take pride in the work you do here, in large part, because you believe in the mission.”

The Gladys Strawn Bullard Award was awarded to UNCG Police Chief Paul Lester.

The three Staff Excellence Awards were presented to Lloyd International Honors College Budget and Operations Manager Linda Dunston-Stacey, Special Events Coordinator Julie Landen, and College of Arts and Sciences Assistant to the Dean Lori Wright.

Staff Senate Co-Chair Stephen Hale also announced the creation of a new award, the Ezekiel Robinson Staff Emeritus Award, given posthumously this year to Ezekiel Robinson, who joined the campus in 1892 and served in a prominent staff role for 52 years under three different presidents.

Staff Stars were honored as well. This year’s Staff Stars are:

  • Aldenia Batts
  • Amy Coble
  • Becky Rymer
  • Beth Todd
  • Bruce Cabiness
  • Dena Kowal
  • Elizabeth Jordan
  • George Jones
  • Glenda Lloyd
  • Heather Mitchell
  • Jarrett Rice
  • Jay White
  • Jeffrey Dezearn
  • Kim Sawyer
  • Kristina Wright
  • Kristin Rusbolt
  • Lakeisha Richardson
  • Shanelle Smith
  • Leah Congrove
  • Maddie Benefield
  • Margaret Patton
  • Mark Unrue
  • Mecole Davis
  • Michelle Courtney
  • Morgan Glover
  • Nancy Brown
  • Richard West
  • Ruby Harrell
  • Ryan Thompson
  • Sara Benefield
  • Sherri MacCheyne
  • Sean Moon
  • Daniel Russell
  • David McFayden
  • Dicky Hawks
  • Mike Elberson
  • Tim Hall
  • Tami Rich
  • Tim Crews
  • William Johnson, Jr.

See full story in UNCG Now.

Share This