News Items from UNC Greensboro

042711Feature_StaffAwardsKaren Stacherksi (ELCF) and Lisa Walker (Nutrition) received the 2011 Staff Excellence Awards. They will be recognized at the Faculty and Staff Excellence Awards ceremony after the State of the Campus address on August 17.

But at last Wednesday’s Staff Excellence Award Breakfast, the focus was on recognizing all the staff excellence nominees. Ten were honored at the event in Virginia Dare Room.

“I want to congratulate all the nominees here. You all do incredible work,” Chancellor Linda P. Brady told the 10 nominees.

“You and your comrades are always there,” she said. Many work late into the evenings or in the early mornings – and some literally overnight, she noted.

“This year we had 10 amazing nominations,” said Julie Landen, chair of the Staff Senate’s Staff Recognition Committee. She and four other members of the committee – Cynthia Louis, Connie Uselman, Julee Johnson and Kristen Hudy – read the remarks of those who’d nominated the 10 being honored.

“A true master of multi-tasking”… “The glue that holds everything together in these trying times”… “An incredibly caring, thoughtful disposition” were some of the nominees’ comments that were read aloud.

Jason Morris, chair of Staff Senate, made remarks. Kevin Bullard, the former chair of Staff Senate, was on hand as well.

The 10 honored nominees:
Donna Doby (Nursing)
Mary Crowe (Undergraduate Research)
David Kinsey (Nursing)
Karen Haywood (Registar’s Office)
Kim Clark (Campus Recreation)
Michael James (Facilities Operations)
Robette Edwards (Accounting Services)
Amanda Hughes (Music, Theatre and Dance)
Karen Stacherski (Educational Leadership and Cultural Foundations)
Lisa Walker (Nutrition)

By Mike Harris
Photograph by David Wilson

Share This