News Items from UNC Greensboro

Campus photo of Alumni House and Bell Clock TowerThe UNCG Board of Trustees has welcomed five new members.

In early July, Governor Pat McCrory appointed two new members to the UNCG Board of Trustees. Betsy S. Oakley, UNCG alumna and co-owner of Charles Aris, Inc., and Elizabeth Carlock Phillips, executive director of the Phillips Foundation, were appointed to serve through June 2019.

William (Dean) A. Priddy, Jr., UNCG alumnus and retired executive vice president at Qorvo, Inc., and Mona G. Edwards, chief operating officer for the Community Foundation of Greater Greensboro, were recently appointed to the UNCG Board of Trustees by the UNC Board of Governors. Their appointments are also through June 2019.

Charles Blackmon and UNCG alumni Susan Safran and Brad Hayes were each reappointed by the Board of Governors for a four-year term.

UNCG Student Government President Brittany Hudson will serve as an ex officio member during the academic year.

On July 2, the trustees elected their board officers for 2015-16. The officers are:
Chair – Susan Safran
Vice-Chair – Brad Hayes
Secretary – Ward Russell
Officers-at-large – Charles Blackmon and Frances Bullock

The full membership of the 2015-16 Board of Trustees is:
Charles Blackmon
Frances Bullock
Vanessa Carroll
Mona Edwards
Brad Hayes
Randall Kaplan
Betsy Oakley
Elizabeth Phillips
Dean Priddy
Ward Russell
Susan Safran
David Sprinkle
Brittany Hudson

Some brief information about the newly appointed members:

Betsy S. Oakley is co-owner of Charles Aris, Inc. At UNCG, she received her bachelor’s degree in Clothing and Textiles, has served on the Board of Directors of the School of Human Environmental Sciences Foundation, has been a member of the UNCG Legislative Network, and has been chair of the Friends of the UNCG Libraries.

Elizabeth C. Phillips is executive director of the Phillips Foundation. A recipient of the Triad Business Journal’s Women in Business Award in 2015, she is involved in a variety of organizations, including Action Greensboro Operating Group, Salvation Army of Greensboro Advisory Board, Generation GPAC (founder and co-chair), Akola Project (founding designer and vice president) and Echelon (founding president).

William (Dean) A. Priddy retired this year as executive vice president of administration, Qorvo, Inc. Earlier in his career, he was at Analog Devices and RFMD. He received both his bachelor’s and M.B.A. degrees from UNCG. Priddy has served on the UNCG Bryan Business School Advisory Board and has received the Bryan School Distinguished Alumni Award. He also has served on the Board of Partners Ending Homelessness and in 2010 was named the Triad Business Journal’s Change Agent of the Year.

Mona G. Edwards is chief operating officer for the Community Foundation of Greater Greensboro, where she oversees day-to-day operations, human resources and the staff who lead marketing and communications and community and foundation relations. She has more than 20 years of combined experience in the nonprofit sector, government, legal and leadership fields. She also serves as a feedback and executive coach at the Center for Creative Leadership.

Brittany H. Hudson, as UNCG Student Government Association president, will serve as an ex officio member of the Board of Trustees this academic year. A senior, she is a Business Administration and Media Studies double major from Charlotte, NC. In addition to her service in student government, she is a member of Delta Sigma Pi Professional Business Fraternity and the 2015 recipient of The James H. Allen Student Leader Scholarship.

Share This