UNCGNews

News Items from UNC Greensboro

This article was updated on Wednesday, Feb. 3, 2021

The Office of the Chancellor and the Office of the Provost in partnership with the Center for Creative Leadership (CCL) are launching a custom faculty leadership development program with a focus on higher education for mid-career to senior-level women of color.

As a university serving a diverse student body and community, this new program recognizes the importance of the development of future leaders that represent diverse backgrounds and who will bring new perspectives to solving the challenges we face in higher education.

The UNCG Leadership Development Program for Scholars of Color invites those with a stellar record of accomplishment, demonstrated leadership capacity, and commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion for this new initiative.

The pilot program includes a series of virtual half-day sessions, combined with one-on-one executive coaching and personalized assessment, and participants will be matched with an executive-level UNCG mentor at the conclusion of the program. This is also an opportunity to network and engage with other women of color faculty with interest in leadership roles.

Dr. Princess Cullum, senior faculty member from the Center for Creative Leadership will facilitate the program. With more than 15 years of experience, she is a sought-after expert in the field of women’s leadership.

2021 UNCG/CCL Faculty Leadership Program Participants

ParticipantContactPosition
Gaby Steinglstein@uncg.eduAssociate Professor, Psychology
Tanya Coakleyt_coakle@uncg.eduProfessor, Social Work, Provost Fellow
Robin Geermgee@uncg.eduAssociate Professor, Dance
Stephanie Irby Coardsicoard@uncg.eduAssociate Professor, Human Development and Family Studies
Cheryl Nakataccnakata@uncg.eduJ.M. Bryan Distinguished Professor of Innovation, Marketing, Entrepreneurship, Hospitality & Tourism
Sharon Morrisonsdmorri2@uncg.eduProfessor, Public Health Education
Selima Sultanas_sultan@uncg.eduProfessor, Geography, Environmental and Sustainability Studies; Director of Graduate Studies
Silvia Bettezscbettez@uncg.eduProfessor, Educational Leadership and Cultural Foundations
Joi Bullsjwbulls@uncg.eduAP Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Studies; Student Success Faculty Fellow
Shelly Brown-Jeffyslbrown2@uncg.eduAssociate Professor, Sociology; Co-PI, ADVANCE
Cerise Glenn Manigaultclglenn@uncg.eduAssociate Professor, Communication Studies; Co-PI, ADVANCE
Pam Rowseypjrowsey@uncg.eduProfessor, Adult Health Nursing
Tara Greentgreen@uncg.eduProfessor, African American and African Diaspora Studies, Linda Arnold Carlisle Excellence Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies.
Hemali Rathnayakehprathna@uncg.eduAssociate Professor, Nanoscience
Leila Villaverdelevillav@uncg.eduProfessor, Educational Leadership and Cultural Foundations; Dean’s Fellow of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
Merlyn Griffithsmagriff3@uncg.eduAssociate Professor, Marketing
 Julia Mendez Smithjlmendez@uncg.eduProfessor, Psychology, Chancellor’s Campus Climate Fellow
Andrea Hunteraghunter@uncg.eduProfessor, Human Development and Family Studies, Chancellor’s Campus Climate Fellow  
Edna Tane_tan@uncg.eduProfessor, Teacher Education and Higher Education (Science Education)  
 
Share This